April 28,2015   By:Chinahumanrights.org

Nov. 5-6, 2013

The fifth national conference of human rights institutions held in Wuhan, Hubei province. During Nov. 5-6, over a hundred of scholars attended the conference.

Nov. 15, 2013

The Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC) will ensure that the authority of the constitution and laws is upheld.

According to the full text of a key reform decision released by the CPC Central Committee on Nov. 15, 2013, implementation of the constitution will be taken to a "new level," through improved supervision to ensure that all are treated equally before the law.

No organization or individual has the privilege to overstep the constitution or any other laws, and all violations will be held accountable, according to the decision, approved by the Third Plenary Session of the 18th CPC Central Committee, a four-day meeting that ended on Nov. 12, 2013.
Nov. 12, 2013

China on Nov. 12, 2013 was elected to the UN Human Rights Council for a three-year term.

China was one of the 14 elected members to the 47-member UN human rights body at the 68th session of the UN General Assembly ( UNGA). It got 176 favorable votes from the 192 UN member states present in one round of secret ballot on Tuesday morning, winning a three-year term in the Council from 2014 to 2016.

The UN Human Rights Council, based in Geneva, Switzerland, and a major United Nations body working to promote and protect human rights worldwide, was set up by the UNGA on March 15, 2006, to replace and build upon the achievements of the 60-year-old Commission on Human Rights.

Members of the UN Human Rights Council are elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the UNGA members and will serve for a period of three years after being elected, but they shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms.

China was elected as a founding member of the Council in 2006 and was re-elected for another three-year term in 2009.


For the latest news and analysis from our

reporters and editors:Staff Twitter List>>